Car Shops —Truth in Repairs

From the Office of Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson

Every car, whether new or used, requires maintenance
and repairs from time to time. The Minnesota Attorney
General’s Office offers the following tips on how
to select a mechanic, get a good deal on repairs, and
resolve potential disputes.

Warranties or Service Contracts

If a car is covered by the factory warranty, a used car
warranty, or a service contract, the owner may need
to take the vehicle to a specific repair shop designated
in the contract. The warranty, contract, or insurance
policy may require you to get prior permission before
the repair is performed. If you don’t get prior approval,
the company may not pay. Owners who obtain repair
work at a shop not covered in the contract risk having to
pay the full price for repairs. If the warranty or service
contract has expired, or if the owner purchased a used
car “as is,” he/she will need to select a repair shop on
their own. An “as is” car is a vehicle sold at a used car
lot which exceeds the car mileage or age requirements
covered by Minnesota’s Used Car Warranty Law. For
more information on the Used Car Warranty Law or the
Lemon Law protecting new car purchases, contact the
Minnesota Attorney General’s Office to obtain a copy of
Minnesota’s Car Laws free of charge.

Finding a Mechanic

Contact friends, relatives, or co-workers to obtain
recommendations on quality repair shops.
websites also offer helpful evaluations of car repair
shops. Make sure, however, that the site is maintained
by an unbiased source before believing everything you
read. Talk with several repair shops to get an idea of the
shops’ pricing policies, turnaround time, and customer
service before committing to one particular shop. Some
shops may specialize in repairing certain makes or
models. Others may specialize in body work or specific
vehicle parts. Make sure that the repair shop you choose
is prepared to accommodate your repair needs.

Some

Getting the Best Price

Under the Truth in Repairs Act, Minnesotans have the
right to receive a written estimate from a shop before it
begins any actual repair work. Obtain several estimates
and compare costs before deciding upon a given shop.
The shop cannot perform unnecessary or unauthorized
repairs. When you take a car in for an estimate, you
should clearly explain to the shop that they do not want
the shop to make any repairs until they have examined
the estimate. You may wish to document this request in
writing at the shop to protect against potential disputes
later.

Once an estimate has been obtained, the Truth in Repairs
Act dictates that the shop generally may not charge more
than 10 percent above the estimated cost. After repairs
have begun, if a shop determines that additional work
needs to be done, the shop may exceed the price of
the written estimate, but only after it has informed the
customer and provided them with an updated estimate.
If the consumer authorizes the additional work, the shop
may not charge more than 10 percent above the revised
estimate.

Insome cases, unscrupulous repair shops may recommend
unnecessary or marginal repairs to make additional
money. Mechanics may operate on commission and
therefore have an incentive to make more repairs than
necessary. Consumers who are unsure whether a repair
is necessary may wish to take their vehicle to a car shop
specializing in diagnostic work. Since diagnostic-only
shops don’t actually repair cars, they do not have any
reason to recommend unnecessary repairs.

Keep the Invoice

Repair shops are required to provide customers with
an invoice if the repairs cost more than $50 and/or the
work is done under a manufacturer’s warranty, service
contract, or insurance policy. If the repair work is
covered by a contract, warranty, or insurance policy,

MINNESOTA ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE « 445 MINNESOTA STREET, SUITE 1400 « ST. PAUL, MN 55101
(651) 296-3353 + 1-800-657-3787 « TTY (651) 297-7206 « TTY 1-800-366-4812 + WWW.AG.STATE.MN.US



consumers may need to submit a copy of the invoice to
the warrantor or insurance company to receive coverage
or reimbursement. You may wish to ask repair shops for
an itemized breakdown of all the parts that were replaced,
its cost, and labor charges. You also have the right to
obtain any replaced part upon request if you make the
request before the work begins (unless the warranty or
service contract dictates that the part must be sent to the
company offering coverage). Consumers, however, may
still need to pay an additional cost to receive the part.

Consumers should document all communications
with the repair shop. Keep a dated journal of the staff
members you speak with, price estimates, potential
problems, billing procedures, etc. In the event that a
dispute develops, this information may be extremely

important in resolving the problem.

1) If a consumer disputes a repair or pricing practice,
he/she should attempt to settle the problem with
the shop manager or owner. Some businesses have
special programs or practices for handling disputes.

2) If a consumer is unable to resolve the dispute with
the repair shop directly, he/she may file a complaint
and seek assistance from the Minnesota Attorney
General’s Office.

3) Consumers who are unable to resolve a dispute
amicably may wish to file a claim in Conciliation
or “small claims” court. Conciliation Court may
award up to $15,000 if a consumer wins the case.
Consumers who wish to proceed in Conciliation
Court do not need an attorney. The Minnesota
Attorney General’s Office produces a brochure
entitled Conciliation Court: A User s Guide to Small
Claims Court, which can be obtained free of charge
by contacting the Office.

If consumers would like to file a complaint against
a company or obtain more information about cars or
other consumer issues, they may contact the Attorney
General’s Office as follows:

Office of Minnesota Attorney General
Lori Swanson
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-296-3353 or 800-657-3787
TTY: 651-297-7206 or 800-366-4812
www.ag.state.mn.us



