The ZONE: Drug-Free Zones

From the Office of Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson

The law* is tough on anyone caught selling or
possessing illegal drugs within one city block or
three hundred feet of any Minnesota:

e Park

e Drug Treatment Center
*  Public Housing Project
*  School

*  School Bus Carrying Students

Adults convicted of sale or possession
of illegal drugs in a school, park, public
housing, or drug treatment center zone
can be sentenced as follows:

Sale of Narcotic Drugs.

(methamphetamine, amphetamine, cocaine, crack,

opium, heroin), LSD, or 5 kilograms of marijuana

»  Up to 25 years in prison
+ Up toa $500,000 fine
* Repeat Sale - up to 40 years in prison with a

required sentence of at least three years

Possession of Narcotic Drugs.
(methamphetamine, amphetamine,
opium, heroin), or 5 or more dosage units of LSD

cocaine, crack,

*  Up to 20 years in prison
*  Uptoa $250,000 fine

* Repeat Possession - up to 30 years in prison with a
required sentence of at least two years

Sale of 25 Kilograms of Marijuana.
e Up to 30 years in prison
e Up to a $1 million fine

»  Repeat Sale - up to 40 years with a required sentence
of at least four years.

Sale of Any Amount of Marijuana.
* Up to 15 years in prison
*  Uptoa$100,000 fine

*  Repeat sale —up to 30 years in prison with a required
sentence of at least one year

Sale of Other lllegal Drugs.

(speed, PCP, marijuana, or any other drug)

e Tougher sentences than usual for selling or
possessing an illegal drug in a school, park, public

housing, or drug treatment center zone

* Sentencing may be further increased with possession
or use of a dangerous weapon in these zones

Juveniles convicted of these crimes who are at least 14
years old can be treated as an adult and sentenced in an
adult court.

School, park, public housing, and drug treatment center
zones begin at the boundaries of the property and extend
three hundred feet from that point, or one city block,
whichever is greater.
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* MINNESOTA STATUTES 152.01, 152.021-152.024
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