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Many Minnesotans may find themselves financially
squeezed and looking for short-term help. Some cash-
strapped consumers may turn to payday loans. A payday
loan is a shortterm, high-interest loan, targeted at
borrowers who need money between paychecks. The
contract generally requires borrowers to pay back the loan
in 14 days, when their next paycheck arrives. Consumers
should beware of the costs and fees associated with such
loans. Consumers should also be wary of whom they are
borrowing from, as some payday lenders do not follow
Minnesota law and charge rates of interest far greater than
those allowed in Minnesota.

What Is a Payday Loan?

Payday loans are short-term loans, often for $500 or less,
with hefty finance charges. Payday loans allow consumers to
borrow against an anticipated paycheck or other anticipated
earnings. Although payday loans may be marketed as “one-
time-only” loans designed to help the consumer get by until
their next paycheck, some consumers who take out payday
loans find themselves trapped in a downward spiral of debt
as they take out a series of loans, one after another, accruing
greater and greater finance charges that can quickly exceed
the amount borrowed.

Internet Payday Loans Are Especially
Problematic

Tight finances can lead people to look for instant payday
loans on the Internet. People should be on guard against
Internet payday lenders that evade state interest rate and
consumer protection laws by operating online without
proper state licensure. Numerous payday loan websites
operate on the Internet. A customer generally types in his
or her personal information, including Social Security and
bank account numbers, and the loan is deposited into their
bank account within hours. If the loan is not repaid on time
(generally within two weeks), hefty finance charges are

automatically debited from the consumer’s bank account
every two weeks. The borrower can soon incur interest that
exceeds the amount of the loan.

Some Internet payday lenders try to evade state interest
rate and consumer protection laws by getting licenses in
states without meaningful restrictions, by operating without
state licenses at all, or by setting up operations outside of
the country or under American Indian tribal authority and
claiming that loans are made subject to the laws of the
home country or tribe. Minnesota law, however, makes clear
that online payday lenders that lend money to Minnesota
borrowers are subject to the requirements of Minnesota
law, even if the lender is physically located in another state.

People should always check—before they sign up—to
find out if an Internet payday lender is registered with
the Minnesota Department of Commerce to make small
consumer loans in Minnesota. Some consumers encounter
legal problems when they dispute the amount owed under
an Internet loan contract. Also, consumers who borrow
online often have difficulty communicating with Internet
payday lenders, who can be hard to locate to resolve
disputes. Be wary about giving out information online
to unknown Internet companies. This can expose you to
potential privacy and identity theft risks, and a disreputable
Internet company can use your bank account information
to drain your account.

High Fees and Costs

Although the quick cash promised by payday loans may
sound attractive, consumers should make sure that they
know what costs they are agreeing to pay before signing
up for such loans. Minnesota law caps the amount of fees
that can be charged on payday loans. If a payday loan is
$350 or less, Minnesota rates are capped on a sliding scale
as follows:
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LOAN AMOUNT FEE
$50 or less $5.50
$50.01-3$100 10 percent, plus a $5 fee

7 percent (minimum of $10),

$100.01 - $250 Dlus a 85 foe

6 percent (minimum $17.50),

$250.01- $350 plus a $5 fee

For loans between $350.01 and $1,000, payday lenders
cannot charge more than 33 percent annual interest plus a
$25 fee. Minnesotans should not obtain payday loans that
do not meet these fee caps. This requires vigilance on the
part of consumers, as some Internet payday lenders do not
comply with Minnesota law.

Payday Lenders Must Be Licensed with
the State

Minnesota has a payday loan statute that provides certain
protections to Minnesota consumers. This law makes clear
that all payday lenders, including Internet payday lenders
that make loans to Minnesota residents, must comply with
its provisions, including its licensure provisions and rate
caps. Before signing up with a payday lender, borrowers
should check with the Minnesota Department of Commerce
to see if the entity is licensed to make payday loans in
Minnesota:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 Seventh Place East, Suite 280
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 539-1500
www.mn.gov/commerce

Review All Your Options

Consumers should review all of their options before taking
out a payday loan. Ask yourself if you absolutely need the
money urgently. If you can wait until the following payday,
you may save yourself money and headaches. If you are
considering taking out a payday loan to pay off a bill to
another company, consider contacting the company to see
if you can pay the bill late, or agree to a payment plan directly
with company itself. You will often pay less to arrange such
a payment plan than by taking out a payday loan. Also, shop
around at other financial institutions to see if you can get a
better deal. Know the cost of the credit you are taking out.
Compare annual percentage rates and finance charges to
those available through other lenders.

You may contact the Attorney General's Office for more
information or to file a complaint at the contact information
below.

Office of Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 296-3353 (Twin Cities Calling Area)
(800) 657-3787 (Outside the Twin Cities)
(800) 627-3529 (Minnesota Relay)
www.ag.state.mn.us
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