
What Is Stalking?
Stalking is intentionally following or harassing another 
person. The victims may live in constant fear of their 
stalkers—who can include former spouses, ex-partners, or 
strangers. Stalking is a serious crime in Minnesota.

Stalking victims are often forced to live in fear and terror, 
screening telephone calls and altering living arrangements. 
Stalking is harassment and more. Stalking is a form of 
terrorism. 

Stalking is a crime that can touch anyone, regardless of 
gender, race, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, 
geographic location, or with whom a person associates. 
Stalking is not the victim’s fault!

Minnesota’s Anti-Stalking Law
Minnesota Statutes Section 609.749 prohibits harassing 
another person by engaging in conduct that causes the 
victim to feel frightened, threatened, oppressed, persecuted, 
or intimidated, regardless of the relationship between the 
harasser and victim.

It is a Gross Misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in 
jail to harass another by committing any of the following 
acts:

•	 directly or indirectly intending to injure the person, 
property, or rights of another

•	 following, monitoring, or pursuing another through 
any available technological or other means 

•	 returning to the property of another without authority 
•	 making repeated telephone calls or sending repeated 

text messages to the victim 
•	 sending letters, messages, telegrams, packages, or 

other objects, including electronically, to the victim’s 
home or work.

It is a Felony punishable by up to five years in prison if, in 
the course of commiting any of the acts described in the 
previous section, the perpetrator: 

•	 possesses a dangerous weapon at the time of the 
offense

•	 commits a harassment offense within ten years of 
discharge from a domestic violence related offense, 
including harassment

•	 targets a victim because of the victim’s or another’s 
race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability, 
age, or national origin

•	 falsely impersonates another while committing the 
offense

•	 targets a victim under the age of 18 and the perpetrator 
is more than 36 months older than the victim 

It is a Felony punishable by up to ten years in prison if a 
person engages in a pattern of stalking against one victim 
or household. A pattern of stalking includes, but is not 
limited to, committing two or more of the following acts 
within a five year period:

•	 any stalking offense 
•	 making terroristic threats
•	 committing domestic assault
•	 violating a harassment restraining order or order for 

protection

For Help Or Information
Call 911, the police, the sheriff, or your local domestic 
abuse program. You can also call the following:

Minnesota Domestic Violence Crisis Line 
(866) 223-1111

National Domestic Violence Hotline 
(800) 799-SAFE (7233) 

TTY: (800) 787-3224 
www.thehotline.org

Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women 
(651) 646-6177 or (800) 289-6177 

www.mcbw.org/

Sexual Assault Crisis Line 
(800) 643-6250
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United Way 2-1-1 24-Hour Crisis Referral Line 
2-1-1 or (651) 291-0211 

Phones at above numbers are answered 24 hours a day.

Crime Victim Justice Unit Referral Hotline 
(800) 247-0390 Extension #3 (M-F 8:00-4:30)

I. Call 911 Or The Police Or Sheriff
The first thing to do when any stalking incident occurs is to 
call your local law enforcement agency. Explain exactly what 
happened and request that a report be taken to document 
the incident. Get the report number and responding officer’s 
name.

II. Stalking Doesn’t Stop With 911
Empower Yourself! Take these extra precautions:

•	 Obtain a Restraining Order or an Order for Protection. 
A restraining order or order for protection requires 
the offender to stay away from you, and it is a crime 
to violate a restraining order or order for protection. 
However, restraining orders and orders for protection 
are not foolproof. You must do more to protect your 
safety.

•	 Notify family and friends. Ask those who may be 
helpful in formulating a contingency plan to keep an 
eye out for strange occurrences. Inform a trusted 
neighbor and/or co-worker about the situation. You 
may also want to meet with your local police to 
develop a plan of action.

•	 Maintain an unlisted phone number. Consider adding 
voicemail and/or Caller I.D. telephone services. Tape 
record all calls.

•	 Make use of *57 on your touch-tone landline phone. 
Press *57 immediately after any unwanted phone calls 
and listen for directions from the telephone company, 
which will trace the call. There is a $1 charge per call 
for this service. (Dial 1157 on a rotary phone). Cell 
phone users should check with their service provider 
for cost and availability of this service.

•	 Contact your county attorney’s office. Many county 
attorneys offices have victim/witness advocates who 
can help you and keep you informed about your case.

Safety Alert!
Computer use can be monitored and it is impossible to 
completely clear information viewed on the Internet 
from your computer. If you are afraid your internet 
and/or computer usage might be monitored, please 
use a safer computer, and/or call your local hotline  
(Minnesota Domestic Violence Crisis Line (866) 
223-1111), or call the National Domestic Violence 
Hotline (800) 799-SAFE (7233).

III. Documentation
Your help in proving that the incidents occurred is essential!

•	 Write down the details of each stalking incident. Keep 
track of the dates and times of each incident, what the 
stalker said or did, clothing descriptions, when police 
were called, report numbers, and responding officers’ 
names. Also, try to record what you were feeling at 
the time of the incident. All of this information will be 
valuable during prosecution.

•	 Obtain copies of court orders, protective orders, and 
warrants, if possible.

•	 Keep your protective order and a photo of your abuser 
on you at all times.

•	 When you see the stalker, try to take a photograph if it 
can be done without endangering yourself.

•	 Save and date all written material that you receive 
from the stalker including cards, letters, notes, 
and envelopes (if possible, save in a plastic bag to 
preserve fingerprints).

•	 Save answering machine tapes and voicemail 
messages. Make a note of the date and time the 
stalker called.

•	 Preserve caller I.D. information and emails.

•	 Make a list of potential witnesses to the stalking 
incidents.

There are two kinds of court orders: Restraining Orders 
and Orders for Protection. BOTH are designed to stop the 
stalker and protect YOU.
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What Is A Restraining Order?
It is an order from the court which requires the stalker to 
stop harassing you. It may also require the stalker to cease 
all contact with you, including coming to your home, your 
school, or the place where you work. A restraining order can 
be issued against any harasser, regardless of the harasser’s 
relationship to the victim.

What Is An Order For Protection?
An Order for Protection (OFP) is a special kind of restraining 
order for victims of domestic abuse. It may direct the stalker 
to:

•	 stop stalking you (through harassment, threats, or 
abuse)

•	 stay away from where you live, go to school, or work
•	 leave your household
•	 enter a counseling program

An OFP may also award temporary custody, child support, 
or use and possession of property.

Who Is Eligible For An Order For 
Protection?
You may obtain an OFP if you have recently been a victim 
of domestic violence. Domestic violence is defined as 
any act of abuse, including pushing, shoving, grabbing, 
slapping, punching, pulling hair, kicking, forcing sexual acts, 
or threatening imminent physical harm or bodily injury. You 
are eligible if you and the person who has abused you:

•	 are married or used to be married
•	 are parent and child
•	 live together or used to live together
•	 have a child in common (or the woman is pregnant 

and the man is the alleged father)
•	 are related by blood
•	 are involved in a significant romantic or sexual 

relationship

How To Get A Restraining Order Or 
Order For Protection
Contact the Court Administration office of your county 
court. They will help you file a petition for a restraining 
order or OFP. You will not have to pay to file this petition 
and have it served on the stalker. The court will schedule 

a hearing within 14 days to decide whether to issue the 
restraining order or OFP. A temporary restraining order or ex 
parte OFP can be issued to protect you until the court holds 
the hearing. Under certain conditions, you may also file for 
a restraining order or OFP on behalf of your child. Forms, 
additional instructions and contact information for your 
county court administrator are available online at: www.
mncourts.gov/selfhelp.

What Happens If A Restraining Order 
Or Order For Protection Is Violated?
If the stalker assaults you, threatens you, or refuses to stay 
away from you, call the police (911) immediately. They 
will come, and you can tell them what happened. It will be 
helpful for you to show the police a copy of your restraining 
order or OFP. In some cases, the police are required to make 
an arrest.

If the abuser doesn’t follow another part of the order—
for example, doesn’t pay child support, doesn’t attend 
counseling, harasses you by phone, or doesn’t abide by a 
child visitation order—the Minnesota Coalition for Battered 
Women (contact information below) can help you bring the 
case back to court.

Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women  
60 Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, MN 55107 

(651) 646-6177 or (800) 289-6177 
www.mcbw.org

Rights Of Victims Of Domestic Abuse 
To Terminate Lease
A victim of domestic violence who fears imminent 
domestic abuse if the victim or the victim’s minor children 
remain in the leased premises may terminate a residential 
lease agreement under certain conditions. The tenant must 
provide advance written notice to the landlord stating that:

1)	 The tenant fears imminent domestic abuse from a 
person named in an order for protection or no contact 
order; and

2)	 The tenant needs to terminate the tenancy; and
3)	 The specific date the tenancy will terminate.

The law requires that the advance written notice must be 
delivered before the termination of the tenancy by mail, fax, 
or in person, and must include the order for protection or 
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no contact order. The landlord is prohibited from disclosing 
information provided in this written notification and may not 
enter the information into any shared database and cannot 
provide it to any person or entity. But the landlord may use 
the information as evidence in an eviction proceeding, action 
for unpaid rent or damages arising out of the tenancy, claims 
related to security deposits, with the tenant’s permission, or 
as otherwise required by law.

The tenant is responsible for the rent payment for the full 
month in which the tenancy terminates and forfeits the 
security deposit. If the tenant owes the landlord rent or 
other amounts for a period before the termination of the 
lease, the tenant will continue to owe that amount to the 
landlord.

Freeze Your Credit Report
Victims of domestic violence/abuse are at an increased risk 
for credit abuse and misuse of information in their credit 
files. The abuser may already have access to the victim’s 
personal information (Social Security number and/or birth 
date) and account information and be familiar with details 
of the victim’s life (mother’s maiden name, pet’s name, 
and answers to other “security questions”). Consumers in 
Minnesota can “freeze” their credit reports. A credit report 
freeze will deny identity thieves access to the consumer’s 
credit history and prevent them from obtaining new credit 
cards or loans under the consumer’s name. Currently only 
victims of identity theft can have their credit reports frozen 
without charge, but any Minnesotan can proactively freeze 
their credit report for a $5 fee per credit reporting agency. For 
information on how to “Freeze” your credit reports contact 
the Attorney General’s Office and ask for the publication 
Protect Yourself From Identity Theft.

New Social Security Numbers For 
Domestic Violence Victims
Although Social Security does not routinely assign new 
numbers, they will do so when evidence shows you are being 
harassed or abused or your life is endangered. Applying for 
a new number is a big decision. It may impact your ability 
to interact with federal and state agencies, employers, and 
others because your financial, medical, employment, and 
other records will be under your former Social Security 

number and name (if you change your name). If you expect 
to change your name, we recommend you do so before 
applying for a new number.

How to Apply for a New Number
You must apply in person at any Social Security office. They 
will help you complete a statement explaining why you need 
a new number and an application for a new number.

You will need to present:
•	 Evidence documenting the harassment or abuse (or 

that someone has stolen your number);
•	 Your current Social Security number;
•	 Original documents establishing your:

•	 U.S. citizenship or immigration status;
•	 Age;
•	 Identity; and
•	 Evidence of your legal name change if 	

you have changed your name.

You will also need to show original documents indicating 
you have custody of any children for whom you are 
requesting new numbers, along with documents proving 
their U.S. citizenship, ages, and identities.

1 in 6 women and 1 in 19 men will be stalked in their lifetime.

Stalking is a form of terrorism. Minnesota’s anti-stalking 
law is aimed at a pattern of terrorizing behavior that is not 
covered under other laws. The purpose of the law is to stop 
acts of repeated following, harassing, and terrorizing.

Being stalked is always frightening and sometimes 
dangerous. But remember you are not powerless. Do not 
ignore the situation. Take action. There are many sources 
of help.

You have the right to feel safe! 
STALKING is a crime in Minnesota!
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